Saskatoon Board of Police Commissioners Announces Troy Cooper as New Saskatoon Police Chief

The Saskatoon Board of Police Commissioners today announced that Troy Cooper is the Police Chief-Elect of the Saskatoon Police Service. He commences his duties on February 28, 2018.

Commission Chair Darlene Brander said, “We are extremely pleased to announce the appointment of Troy Cooper as Chief of Police in Saskatoon. He is the candidate who will continue to motivate and engage our highly qualified Police Service while he concurrently engages with groups and residents throughout our city. We found the community leader we wanted.”

The planning process for recruitment, evaluation and selection of the next Chief of Police was launched in the summer of 2017. In early fall, the Commission announced the recruitment process was underway, and updated the public as the process moved ahead, noting that the Commission remained 100% on track with its stated schedule. From the outset, the Commission’s target was to have the new Chief in place by the first Quarter of 2018.

The standard set of responsibilities for a Chief of Police, include: the management, administration and operation of the Police Service; the maintenance of law and order; the prevention of crime within the City of Saskatoon; and the maintenance of discipline within the Police Service.

Chair Brander added, “Our Commission members knew, right from the start, that we were looking for more than the mandatory set of skills. We wanted to find a Chief of Police who was, among other things, a true community leader, who had displayed exemplary skills in his or her interaction with the community. And we wanted to find a Police Chief who has the proven ability to fully engage and motivate an outstanding Police Service.”

The Saskatoon Board of Police Commissioners communicated, on several occasions during the recruitment process, its complete level of satisfaction with the quality of applications received. The Commission can confirm that it received applications that were internal and applications that were external to the Saskatoon Police Service and can also confirm that it received applications from across Canada. Additional information on applicants cannot be provided in the interests of the confidentiality of the applicants.

Saskatoon Board of Police Commissioners Chair Darlene Brander through the City Clerk’s Office at 306-975-3240.

Saskatoon Board of Police Commissioners Vice-Chair Carolanne Inglis-McQuay through the City Clerk’s Office at 306-975-3240.

Dwight Percy, Consultant to the Saskatoon Police Commission, 306-222-1361 or

Backgrounder on Troy Cooper, Chief-Elect with the Saskatoon Police Service


  • Currently, Chief of Police with the Prince Albert Police Service, a position he has held since 2012.
  • Prior to 2012, served in the following roles with Prince Albert Police Service.
  • Deputy Chief of Police
  • Inspector in Charge, Criminal Investigations Unit
  • Staff Sergeant
  • Detective Sergeant
  • Detective Corporal
  • Constable


  • Masters of Business Administration (MBA) in Law Enforcement & Security, Charles Sturt University
  • Bachelor of Professional Arts (BPA), Criminal Justice, Athabasca University
  • Certificate, Police Leadership Administration, Henson College, Dalhousie University

Professional Development:

  • Executive Development in Policing Program, Canadian Police College
  • Senior Police Administration Course, Canadian Police College
  • Senior Management Institute for Police, Boston College
  • Media Relations, Canadian Police College
  • Quality Assurance, Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police
  • Major Crimes, Canadian Police College
  • Criminal Intelligence Course, Criminal Intelligence Service Canada
  • Commanders Course, Canadian Police College
  • Internal Affairs Investigations, Calgary Police / OPP

Recognition and Awards:

  • Police Exemplary Service Medal
  • Saskatchewan Protective Services Medal
  • Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal
  • Governor General Order of Merit – Member, Police Forces
  • Saskatchewan Centennial Medal
  • Sergeant E. Ryan Memorial Award, Police Officer of the Year
  • Top Academic Recruit (Class 26), Saskatchewan Police College

Current Committees:

  • National Police Services, National Advisory Committee
  • Saskatchewan Protective Services Advisory Committee
  • Chair, Saskatchewan Interoperability Interest Group
  • Co-Chair, HUB / COR Steering Committee
  • Regional Alcohol Strategy Committee
  • Prince Albert Youth Outreach Program
  • Needle Exchange / HIV Strategy Committee