Saskatoon Board of Police Commissioners and Saskatoon Police Association Ratify Collective Agreement

The Saskatoon Police Association (SPA) and the Saskatoon Board of Police Commissioners are pleased to announce the ratification of their collective agreement for the three years from January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2019.

97% of the members of the Saskatoon Police Association who participated in the ratification process approved the terms of the contract. The SPA represents 509 active members of the Saskatoon Police Service. The Saskatoon Board of Police Commissioners approved the agreement at its June 14, 2018 meeting.

The agreement contains salary adjustments as follows: 1.30% on January 1, 2017, 1.45% on December 1, 2017, 2.00% on December 1, 2018, and 1.75% on October 1, 2019.

Dean Pringle, President of the SPA stated, “The Saskatoon Police Association is pleased to have reached a negotiated settlement with the Saskatoon Board of Police Commissioners. It was a lengthy process, but in the end, we feel we reached a fair settlement for our members that is consistent with other police services across the prairies. I would like to thank the Board for participating in the process and avoiding an arbitration hearing. It is always preferable to have the two sides reach a negotiated settlement, as opposed to a third party establishing an award that doesn’t suit either participant.”

Saskatoon Police Commission Chair Darlene Brander added, “The Police Commission is very pleased that the collective agreement has been finalized through the bargaining process. Although this is typically a challenging process, the Commission also appreciates the professionalism with which those involved conducted themselves throughout. We look forward to moving ahead together as we maintain and build on our culture of community safety in Saskatoon.”

Saskatoon Police Association President
Dean Pringle at 639-471-8700 or

Saskatoon Police Association Communications Director
Dave Larocque at 306-381-7769 or

Saskatoon Board of Police Commissioners Chair
Darlene Brander at

Saskatoon Board of Police Commissioners Vice-Chair
Carolanne Inglis-McQuay at

Dwight Percy, Consultant to the Saskatoon Board of Police Commissioners, or 306-222-1361

Download a PDF version here.