Meeting information


  • Status of Police Commission in executing its Strategic Plan,
  • Update report on Safe Community Action Alliance,
  • Savings on Police Service training costs arising from new headquarters facilities,
  • Results of City-funded Traffic Safety Initiative.

Featured Information

A comprehensive review of Saskatoon Police Service operations and practices was undertaken by an independent third party. The result was 20 recommendations, all of which are being assessed for benefit and practicality by the Police Service and the Saskatoon Board of Police Commissioners.

The Saskatoon Board of Police Commission is guided in its decisions by a Strategic Plan that identifies the Commission's Mission, its three Goals and several Strategies under each Goal. The Strategic Plan was updated by the Commission in June 2018.

Saskatoon Board of Police Commissioners:
Roles and Responsibilities

  1. The Police Commission provides oversight with the Saskatoon Police Service, where the Commission holds the responsibility of ensuring the community is served by a reasonable standard of law enforcement. In order to accomplish this, the Commission is mandated to ensure the Saskatoon Police Service has access to adequate and reasonable resources.

  2. Another important Police Commission role is to act as a conduit between the community and Saskatoon City Council. The Commission recommends an annual Police Service operating budget to City Council and confers with the community about issues that are germane to policing and public safety.

The Police Commission operates under the auspices of the Saskatchewan Provincial Police Act in accordance with its Governance Policy.

The Saskatoon Board of Police Commissioners is comprised of the Mayor, two members of Saskatoon City Council and four members of the Public. Find more information here. 

The public is welcome to attend Police Commission meetings and to address the Saskatoon Board of Police Commissioners’ public meetings. Find more information here.

The Public Complaints Commission is a five-person, non-police body appointed by the Saskatchewan government. It is responsible for ensuring that both the public and the police receive a fair and thorough investigation of a complaint against the police or an investigation of a possible criminal offence by a police officer. Additional information is available here.